Skip to Content



Cyrus Cassells
Stanford - Poetry

Cyrus Cassells


The Mud Actor  (Holt, 1982)
Soul Make a Path Through Shouting  (Copper Canyon Press, 1994)
Beautiful Signor  (Copper Canyon Press, 1997)
More Than Peace and Cypresses  (Copper Canyon Press, 2004)
The Crossed-Out Swastika  (Copper Canyon Press, 2012)
Still Life with Children: Selected Poems of Francesc Parcerisas (Tupelo Press, 2013)
The Gospel according to Wild Indigo: New & Selected Poems (Copper Canyon Press, 2014)


• 2006 National Endowment for the Arts Fellowship
National Poetry Series Prize-The Mud Actor
• 2004 One of the Best Books of 2004 by Library JournalMore Than Peace and Cypresses
National Poetry Series Prize-The Mud Actor
• 1994 William Carlos Williams Award and named one of the Best Books of 1994
   by Publisher's Weekly-Soul Make a Path Through Shouting
• 1998 Lambda Literary Award- Beautiful Signor
Lannan Foundation Fellowship
Rockefeller Foundation Fellowship
Peter I.B.Lavan Younger Poet Award from the American Academy of Poets


Roger Jones
PhD Oklahoma State - Poetry

Roger Jones


Remembering New London  (Texas Review Press, 1981)
Strata (Texas Review Press, 1993)
Are We There Yet? (Texas Review Press, 2006)
Poems in various journals, including Southern Poetry Review, Hawaii Review, Poet Lore, Louisiana Literature, Baltimore Review, Hawaii Pacific Review, TexasReview, Arkansas Review, and others


  • 1984 Academy of American Poets PrizeWinner 1993 Texas Review Southern/Southwestern Poetry Breakthrough Award

  • 2008 Texas Review Poetry Prize

  • 2012 Snapshot Press (UK) Haibun e-chapbook Award

  • 1993, 1996, 2001, 2003 Pushcart Prize nomination 

Cecily Parks

Cecily Parks
MFA Columbia - Poetry


Cold Work (chapbook) (Poetry Society of America, 2005)
Field Folly Snow (University of Georgia Press, 2008)
O'Nights (Alice James Books, 2015)
Editor, The Echoing Green: Poems, Meadows, and Grasses (Everyman's Pocket Poets, 2016)


  • 2013 Kinereth Gensler Award
  • 2008 Finalist for Norma Farber First Book Award
  • 2008 Finalist for the Glasgow/Shenandoah Prize for Emerging Writers
  • 2006 Poets and Writers Amy Award
  • 2005 Poetry Society of America New York Chapbook Fellowship

Kathleen Peirce

Kathleen Peirce
MFA Iowa - Poetry


Mercy  (Pittsburgh, 1991)

Divided Touch, Divided Color (Windhover, 1995)

The Oval Hour (Iowa, 1999)

The Ardors  Vault (Ausable Press, 2004)

Vault (New Michigan Press, 2017))



• 2007 Guggenheim Fellowship
• 2006 National Endowment for the Arts Fellowship
Associated Writing Programs Award in Poetry
• 1993 Whiting Writer's Award
• 1998 Iowa Poetry Prize, Finalist for the 1999 Los Angeles Times Book Prize, and winner of the William Carlos Williams Award

Steve Wilson

Steve Wilson
MFA Wichita State - Poetry


The Lost Seventh (Say It With Stones, 2011)
Allegory Dance(Black Tie, 1991)
Editor, The Anatomy of Water: A Sampling of Contemporary American Prose Poetry (Linwood, 1992)
The Singapore Express or Faith in the Knowing Hand of the Scientist(Black Tie, 1994)
Editor, The Prose Poem

His work has also appeared in the following: American Diaspora: Poetry of Displacement,
Like Thunder: Poets Respond to Violence in America, and Sierra Songs and Descants
Finding My Kerouac (Podcast)
Classifieds: An Anthology of Prose Poems
An Introduction to the Prose Poem



• 1994 Fulbright Fellowship
• 2002 Fulbright Fellowship, Slovenia


Doug Dorst, Program Director

Doug Dorst
MFA Iowa - Fiction


Alive in Necropolis (Riverhead, 2009)
The Surf Guru (Riverhead, 2011)
Monster in the Dark (play)
S., a novel collaboration with J.J. Abrams (Little, Brown, 2013)


• Finalist for the PEN/Hemingway and Shirley Jackson Awards for Alive in Necropolis
National Endowment for the Arts Literature Fellowship
Wallace Stegner Fellowship


Jennifer duBois

Jennifer Dubois
MFA Iowa - Fiction


A Partial History of Lost Causes (Dial Press, 2012)
Cartwheel (Random House, 2013)


• Whiting Writer's Award, 2013
• Finalist for the PEN/Hemingway Prize for Debut Fiction, 2013
California Book Award for First Fiction, 2013
Northern California Book Award for Fiction, 2013
 National Book Foundation's 5 Under 35 Award, 2012
 Wallace Stegner Fellowship, Stanford University, 2009-2011


Tom Grimes

Tom Grimes
MFA Iowa - Fiction


A Stone of the Heart  (Four Walls Eight Windows, 1990/SMU Press, 1997)
Spec  (Iowa Review, Vol. 24:1), Full-length play, produced at The Met Theatre, Los Angeles
Season's End  (Little, Brown, 1992/Nebraska, 1996)
City of God  (Norton, 1995/Picador, 1996/Gallimard, 1998)
The Workshop  (Hyperion, 1999)  (Ludlow Press/Gallimard, 2003).
Mentor: A Memoir  Tin House Books, 2010


 2011 PEN USA award, Best Work of Creative Nonfiction, Finalist
 2010 The Washington Post, a Best Nonfiction Book
 2010 Kirkus Reviews, a Best Nonfiction Book, Best Memoir
 2010 Time-Out Chicago, Top Twenty Books of 2010
 2010 Barnes & Noble, Top 100 Best Books, Top 40 Best Biographies, Top 7 Best Literary Biographies
 2010 Barnes & Noble, Discover Great Writers Series
 2010 WOSU National Public Radio, a Favorite Book
 1991 James Michener Fellowship
 1985 PEN/Nelson Algren Award, Finalist
 1984 PEN/Nelson Algren Award, Finalist



Debra Monroe

Debra Monroe
PhD Utah - Fiction


The Source of Trouble (Georgia, 1990/Scribner's, 1995)
A Wild, Cold State (Simon & Schuster, 1995/Scribner's, 1996)
Newfangled (Simon & Schuster, 1998/Scribner's, 2000)
Shambles(SMU, 2004)
On the Outskirts of Normal(SMU Press, 2010)
My Unsentimental Education (University of Georgia Press, 2015)


• 2012 Notable Essay in Best American Essays 2012 - Houghton Mifflin
• 2012 Best Books of 2010 - Barnes & Noble Review, Southern Living, 
  Atlanta Journal-Constitution, San Antonio News
• 1995 Borders Bookstore New Frontiers Award
• 1995 “Ten Best Books of the Season” Elle magazine
• 1993 The John Gardner Fellowship to Breadloaf
• 1993 Quarterly West Novella Prize
• 1990 The Flannery O’Connor Award for Short Fiction



Tim O'Brien, Professor of Creative Writing

Tim O'Brien, Professor of Creative Writing


July, July (Penguin Books, 2002)
Tomcat in Love (Broadway, 1999)
In the Lake of the Woods (Houghton Mifflin, 1994; Mariner Books, 2006)
The Things They Carried (Mariner Books, 1990)
The Nuclear Age (Penguin Books, 1996)
Going After Cacciato (1978)
Northern Lights (1975; Broadway, 1999)
If I Die in a Combat Zone, Box Me Up and Ship Me Home (1973)

Listen to actor Bryan Cranston (Breaking Bad) read the first chapter of the recently released audiobook of The Things They Carried.  Critic A.O. Scott reviews the new audiobook of The Things They Carried at The New York Times.  

At Amazon, The Things They Carried is selected as one of 100 Books to Read in a Lifetime.


• 2012 The Richard C. Holbrooke Prize for Distinguished Achievement Award
• The National Endowment of the Arts "Big Read"
• 2012 The Texas Writer Award
• 1979 National Book Award for Going After Cacciato
• 1995 James Fenimore Cooper Prize for Best Historical Fiction