Skip to Content

MFA in Creative Writing

Who Are We?

Video: Meet the Texas State MFA

Upcoming Events

About the Texas State MFA

A top ranked, funded MFA Program in Creative Writing

Faculty and Alumni News

Naomi Shihab Nye named Young People's Poet Laureate by Poetry Foundation

by Jayme Blaschke 

Naomi Shihab Nye, a professor of creative writing in the Department of English at Texas State University, has been named Young People’s Poet Laureate by the Chicago-based Poetry Foundation. 

The Young People's Poet Laureate designation is intended to celebrate a living writer in recognition of their devotion to writing exceptional poetry for young readers. It comes with a $25,000 prize. This two-year-term laureateship promotes poetry to children and their families, teachers and librarians.

Nye will serve her laureateship from 2019 to 2021 with the goal of bringing poetry to geographically underserved or rural communities through readings underwritten by the Poetry Foundation. In addition, every month during her tenure she will recommend a new poetry book for young readers.


Texas State's Cyrus Cassells awarded Guggenheim Fellowship for poetry

By Jayme Blaschke 

Cyrus Cassells, a professor in the Department of English at Texas State University, has been awarded a Guggenheim Fellowship in the Creative Arts for Poetry by the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation.

Guggenheim Fellowships are awarded to individuals who have demonstrated exceptional capacity for productive scholarship or exceptional creative ability in the arts. Fellowships are intended to further the development of scholars and artists by assisting them to engage in research in any field of knowledge and creation in any of the arts, under the freest possible conditions.  More...


Texas State professor wins Medwick Memorial Award for poetry

By Stephanie Rhodes 

Cecily Parks, an assistant professor in the Department of English at Texas State University, has been honored with the 2019 Lucille Medwick Memorial Award by the Poetry Society of America. 

Parks will receive her award during the 109th Annual Poetry Society of America Awards Ceremony on April 18 in New York. She will read her winning poem, “The Rio Grande,” during the event.

The Lucille Medwick Memorial Award was established by Maury Medwick in memory of his wife, recognizing original poems based on humanitarian themes. “The Rio Grande” calls to attention the issues surrounding the border wall while merging socioeconomic struggles with environmental impact.  More...