Skip to Content

2019-20 Visiting Writers

2019-2020 Visiting Writers


The Texas State MFA program is pleased to welcome the following visiting writers for the 2019-2020 academic year :


(in alphabetical order)


Jamel Brinkley

Jericho Brown

Melissa Febos

Valeria Luiselli

Carmen Maria Machado

Adrian Matejka

Morgan Parker

Tommy Pico

Luis Javier Rodriguez

Erika Sánchez


Among this esteemed group of writers are multiple Guggenheim fellows, National Endowment of the Arts fellows, National Book Award finalists, and Pulitzer Prize finalists. 

Additional visiting writers will be announced. The MFA program also continues to host a separate agents and editors series through its literary journal, Porter House Review.