Texas State University Logo
Banner Image
Flowers Hall Rm 365
601 University Dr.
San Marcos, TX 78666
Ph: (512) 245.2163
Fax: (512) 245.8546

English Resources

Online Resources

Join the Conversation

adjust type sizemake font smallermake font largerreset font size

Department of English

Featured Departmental News

Department of EnglishThe Department received the good news recently that the estate of the late L. D. and Laverne Clark has bequeathed to the Department of English municipal bonds in the amount almost of $659,000 that the university will convert and add to the L.D. and Laverne Clark Literary Endowment. This bequest is in addition to the more than $800,000 the endowment received at its inception. In 2012, L. D. Clark authorized a revised memorandum of understanding that provided for an endowment dedicated to the creation of a writer-in-residence for the MFA program and a fiction-writing contest. The department will be working this spring to honor the terms of this MOU. Years ago, Mark Busby made contact with L. D. and Laverne Clark and fostered their interest in Texas State, the Southwest Writers Collection, and our MFA program. Since then, Mike Hennessy and Tom Grimes helped to maintain contact with the Clarks, at one time inviting L.D. to talk about writing to students bussed to campus from a nearby public school. More recently, we had occasions to be in contact with L.D. and, after Laverne's death, his niece, Mrs. Colleen Clark Carri. The Department is very grateful to Mrs. Carri, who served as the executor of her uncle's will, and we look forward to honoring the wishes and memory of L. D. and Laverne.

Flowers HallAt ceremonies to open the fall semester, a number of English Department faculty were recognized: Mark Busby and Doug Dorst received Presidential Distinction Awards for Scholarly / Creative Activity, Nancy Wilson received a Presidential Distinction Award for Service, Steve Wilson received the Everette Swinney Faculty Senate Teaching Award, Octavio Pimentel received the Excellence in Diversity Award, Victoria Smith and Suparno Banerjee received Liberal Arts College Achievement Awards for Teaching, Kitty Ledbetter received the Liberal Arts Dean's Award for Service, and Susan Hanson received the Faculty Senate's Excellence in Part-Time Teaching Award.

Click here to see the awardee photos.

Dr. Komi BegedouDr. Komi Begedou, Assistant Professor from the University of Lome (Togo), will spend the 2014-15 academic year as a Fulbright scholar in the English Department at Texas State, researching intraracial discrimination in American Literature and working with Elvin Holt and Steve Wilson.

Visit the Department News Page or the Facebook Logo English Department Facebook Page for additional news and upcoming events.

Featured Alumna:
Ms. Michelle Detorie


Featured Faculty:
Dr. Aimee Roundtree

Michelle DetorieWhile earning her MFA in Creative Writing in 2004, Michelle focused on themes of gender, intersectionality, and animals. Her poetry collection, After-Cave, was recently published by Ahsahnta Press.



Dr. Aimee Roundtree Associate Professor Aimee Roundtree, who joined the English Department faculty this year, says she has always been fascinated with moments of translation and interpretation using technical information.


If you are a Texas State University - English Department alumni, send us news about your accomplishments so we can feature you in the future.